Dec 11
Monday
mastheadmod

Reviews on Amazon

27 Secrets to Raising Amazing Children by Molly Brown Koch (Paperback - December 3, 2007)

11 Reviews
5 star:     100%      (11)
4 star:            (0)
3 star:            (0)
2 star:            (0)
1 star:            (0)


5.0 out of 5 stars A Mom's Choice Awards Recipient!, March 20, 2008
By     Mom's Choice Awards
The Mom's Choice Awards® honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, Ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times Best-Selling Author; LeAnn Thieman, Motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books; Tara Paterson, Certified Parent Coach, and founder of The Just For Mom Foundation(tm) and the Mom's Choice Awards®. Parents and educators look for the Mom's Choice Awards® seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families. 27 Secrets to Raising Amazing Children by Molly Brown Koch has been honored by this distinguished award.

5.0 out of 5 stars The 28th Secret, March 31, 2008
By     Paul P. Brown "Gpa" (Rochester Hills, MI USA)
(REAL NAME)  
What makes this book so wonderful and practical is it's clarity and simplicity. No gimmicks, no convoluted, technical jargon, just simple from-the-heart advice based on hands on motherhood and 50 years of listening and learning from children and parents. Molly Koch reminds us of a 28th secret; The Golden Rule starts with your children.

5.0 out of 5 stars An Invaluable Resource For Parents, March 29, 2008
By     Marzipan
This is one of the few parenting books I can endorse without reservation. Molly's voice as a writer is honest, straightforward, and unencumbered by an excess of sentimentality or jargon. The chapters are divided up into "secrets;" strategic approaches to parenting. The anecdotes given are short and apropos of the topic at hand, and the follow up discussions segue into good explanations of how to address a particular issue. Molly encourages the reader to consider things from the child's perspective and motivation rather than from a reactionary stance. This helps parents to work in harmony with their children rather than as adversaries or disciplinarians. She reminds us that everything a child does or experiences is part of a holistic education in which they are immersed from the moment they are born. I have recommended this book to many of my friends and am very glad to have a (well-thumbed) copy on my shelf.

5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, March 28, 2008
By     Bookey McBookreader (Anywhere, USA)
This book offers realistic, reasonable, and sensible tips to raising children. A must-buy for all parents, grandparents, and parents soon to be!

5.0 out of 5 stars pefect gift for new parents, March 28, 2008
By     E. Parnes "Tron77" (LES NYC)
(REAL NAME)  
A great gift for parents. I got a hold of this and gave it to some friends who have a two year old, and it was immediately well received, and put to good use!

5.0 out of 5 stars Practical advice, March 27, 2008
By     david singer (CT)
(REAL NAME)  
The material presented in this book is laid out so that each chapter is full of examples. When I read it I wished I had it years ago when my children were growing up. However, I do have grandchildren. This would make a very practical college text book.

5.0 out of 5 stars Thank Goodness, March 26, 2008
By     Leslie Singer (Connecticut)
(REAL NAME)  
This book offers real world strategies proving there are no problems you can't face bringing up children that can't be handled with grace and love. Molly Koch has written a beautiful 'handbook' filled with great wisdom. This is the only book you will need to bring up your children right the first time. So save yourself a lot of money and invest in this one. I refer to it constantly and find myself,my situation, confusion, question, dilemma in all the gems of examples that she serves up. Thanks Ms. Koch - keep spreading the word - the world might be a better place if everyone saw their children through your heart.

5.0 out of 5 stars children are a gift, March 25, 2008
By     Bonnie P
I wish I had this book when my children where growing up. It is a great book for parents & grandparents. It is never to late to learn something special about children and to appreciate them in a whole new way.
Bonnie P

5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to Appreciate your Children, March 25, 2008
By     Little Mom "Sharon" (Baltimore, MD)
In this very helpful book, Molly uses real life examples to emphasize very valuable lessons. In this book, you'll learn about the value of listening to your children, having respect and compassion for them, and appreciating each child as an amazing human being with their own unique set of needs and abilities. This is a very healthy, novel approach to parenting and it is delightful to read.

5.0 out of 5 stars It's all about listening., March 25, 2008
By     Donn Weinberg (Owings Mills, MD USA)
(REAL NAME)  
After reading this great book, I purchased another 20 copies so I could share it with friends and some charities that help parents and children improve their relationships. I find myself using several of Koch's suggestions in my relationships with my adult children. For example, I don't try to direct the subject matter of my 22 y/o daughter's discussions with me about "her future." Rather, I tell her up front, "I'm listening." That simple technique, straight from Koch's book, makes a big difference and helps my daughter open up in her own way and at her own pace. This book contains lots of wisdom and many wonderful, easy-to-apply techniques for improving communications with children and adults. I consider the book to be a "must read" for those concerned with improving relationships.

And other endorsements:

“Molly Koch is wonderful!  Using her warmth and wisdom she conveys practical ideas for raising amazing kids. She nailed it—moms and dads have to get back to that glorious thing called instinct. Parents who temper their gut feelings with careful listening and respect will be amazed with the results—and children will be the real winners.”

—Michele Borba, Ed.D., author of 12 Simple Secrets Real Moms Know and Parents Do Make a Difference

* * * * * * * * * *

“Molly Koch has affirmed and challenged parents honestly, firmly, and with great love. Rather than preaching parenting ‘skills’ she talks about ways of being and attitudes of the heart and draws on her own experience and that of others for practical, real-life examples. She enables parents to realize and value the potential they have within them—for parenting and for life.”

—Sr. Margi Savage, SSJ, Coordinator, Marian House III

* * * * * * * * * *

"Drawing on decades of interaction with parents and children Molly Koch has constructed a simple but extraordinary guide for raising children. The touchstone of her wisdom is mutual respect between parent and child, a component to often lost in the heat of a moment. My four children are in their fifties now, but I can look back on numerous times where Molly's insight and compassionate advice would have calmed and resolved contentious issues.This book is an invaluable counterweight to the enormous outside influences that invade the home and cause dissention between parents and child."

---Paul Brown

* * * * * * * * * *

"I only wish Molly Koch's new book on parenting were written when i was a young mother. However, i can at least benefit from her wisdom now as a grandma and give our children this readable paperback as presents.

As a former parent education teacher and current life planner, i find the topics covered so important for the healthy development of boys and girls. Ms. Koch provides parents and other readers with important guidelines and ways to lovingly and patiently talk, listen, problem solve and use intuition to and with children. The author champions both parent and child!"

---Wendy D. Ginsburg, M.S.

* * * * * * * * * *


"Great book!  It should be required reading in psychology classes at the college level."

David Singer, M.A., Retired High School Teacher

* * * * * * * * * *

As a clinical social worker working with parents,children and adults I would recommend this book to everyone. Listening is the cornerstone to great relationships. Mrs. Koch has a way of teaching that gets this very important message across. Her deep understanding of what human beings need in order to be heard and understood is articulated in this book. She makes us mindful and raises our consciousness about what is really important for young people to receive from their parents so that they grow up feeling respected and loved for who they are not what their parents want them to be. This a must read if you want to do it right.
Ellen Krieger LCSW-C

* * * * * * * * * * *

"Finally, someone who thinks the way I do about children and knows how to explain that to others.  To explain how to treat children like human beings, who are worthy of adult respect and consideration Molly has nailed sit exactly, writing a book that will help poarents and teachers alike understand the children in their care.  She encourages the adults to be empathic, to listen to the child, to try to determine what the child is feeling and what might be causing a behavior.  I plan to share this book with a lot of people."

Trish Linke,

Preschool and Kindergarten Readiness teacher (retired)

Parks & Recreation Department, Surrey, B.C., Canada

 

* * * * * * * * * * *

A letter written by Gina Strauss to her children in response to reading

27 Secrets to Raising Amazing Children

Dearest Maya and Brooke:

From the moment that you each came into my life, I have known the greatest love possible. You are both Amazing Children and I am so blessed to be your Mommy.  I have some promises that I want to make to you today.

The first promise is that I will respect you as a sacred being who is my equal.  This does not mean that I will treat you like an adult, with adult responsibilities and adult conversations.  Instead, I will find ways to mentor you so that you learn how to make decisions for yourself.  And I will remember that my role as your mommy is not to mold you into the person that I think you should be but instead to nurture the unfolding of your true self.

I promise that I will pay attention to your actions and the deeper meanings behind them instead of judging them with ideas that I have from the past or worries that I have for the future.

I promise to listen deeply and compassionately when you share your thoughts and feelings with me and know that it is truly a special gift to me that you trust me enough to share them.

I promise to learn ways of identifying when I am feeling out of control and then take the actions needed to regain control such as deep breathing, saying a little prayer, or leaving the room for a few minutes.  This can also serve as a guide for you when you are feeling out of control too.

I promise to avoid making "quick fixes" to a situation instead of helping you to work through your feelings and be a part of the solution.  I have faith in your intuitive wisdom that helps you to solve the problems you face. And always know that you can ask me for guidance as well.

I promise to take care of myself so that I can be more present when I am with you.  This includes healthy eating, exercising, and pursuing hobbies that fulfill and energize me.  The higher my energy and spirit are, the more I can meet your needs.

I also promise to take care of my relationship with Daddy.  Sometimes this means that Mommy and Daddy will have special time together while you visit a friend or spend the night over your granparents' house.  This special time allows Mommy and Daddy to nurture their relationship so we can provide you with a safe and peaceful home.

And finally, I know that I will make lots of mistakes as your Mommy.  I promise that I will acknowledge when I make mistakes and make a commitment to working hard so I will not repeat them.

My dear girls, thank you for giving me the opportunity to be your Mommy and for being my teachers in this life journey.

I love you.

Mommy

* * * * * * * * * * *

"What is so special about 27 Secrets . . .?  While reading this book, we are not accumulating more info and trying to impress it upon ourselves.  We are transforming from the inside out.  Molly Koch helps us awaken the secrets that we know most deeply.  And once these valuable secrets are appreciated, they become vibrant parts of our enriched lives.  So it turns out Molly Koch is treating her readers with the exemplary respect that she is highlighting in this book by helping us discover our own buried treasure!


---Bracha Goetz, Author